Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsBusinessesCommunityDistanceA to Z Index
TSS Today
News Home Search
* Shoreline hosts 47th commencement

commencement2011.jpgStudents, family, friends, faculty and staff jammed the Shoreline Community College gymnasium on June, 5, 2011 for the 47th commencement exercises at the college.  Speaking were student Daniel DeMay and faculty member Stephen McCloskey. DeMay used his own story as a high school dropout to illustrate that life's path can be changed. A business instructor, McCloskey's comments were along the same theme, telling the soon-to-be-graduates that is was he who was honored to be learning from them.

Also speaking were President Lee Lambert, Vice President for Academic Affairs John Backes and Phil Barrett, a member of the Board of Trustees for the college. Music was provided by the Shoreline Concert Band, conducted by Ken Noreen who is also a board member of the Shoreline Community College Foundation.

Three Student Service Awards were presented to Radia Elgedawi, Jessica Gonzalez and Rhiannon Howard. Four Professor Emeritus Awards were presented to Eleanor Christensen, engineering; Barry Ehrlich, music; Christopher Simons, graphic design; and Sonja O. Solland, anthropology.  Three students graduated from the Honors program, Maria Ferkingstad, Micaela Smith and Kylie Willliams.  President's Scholar awards went to 70 students, who graduated with a grade point average of 3.9 or higher. For 32 students, the ceremony represented high school graduation and 160 students received a GED.

Comments are locked for this post.